The Flyers were shut out by the Rangers for the second time in a row Saturday afternoon, worried? The Rangers seem to be playing the Flyers a lot like the Devils have been. A real passive forcheck , laying back defensively, not being to aggressive but not giving too much up. They sit back and play frustrating hockey, let you make the mistakes then they capitalize. The Flyers a team that bangs and uses there aggression and physical play to open up the offense, isn't well suited to play against a passive defensive team. Sure they'll let you dump the puck in but they'll bang a little bit with you and just send the puck out to the neutral zone and let you do it all over again. The main problem against these types of teams is scoring first. You HAVE to score first , cause once they put one in they control the flow. Were and are the Rangers as dominant as they looked yesterday? No. They got a scrappy goal from a loose puck out in front of the net. Then they laid back and let the Flyers come at them , they have the personal to do that. If the Flyers score first it's a different game completely. The Rangers have certainly taken a page out of the Devils book for beating the Flyers. The Fly guys just have to be more aggressive, in years past it's always been lack of scoring, it wasn't spread around enough. They had to depend on a handful of guys to put the puck in the net, now they have a bunch, it's a matter of getting shots on net. Saturday they looked to be rushing shots, other games they look to be to patient with the puck. Will everything come together eventually? Are they just waiting on the return of Foppa? Who knows but the big test is coming up , the Flyers have had games in hand on almost everyone in the division that will change by the end of the month as they now go on a a long stretch of games while the rest of the division gets some days off.
February 10, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment