January 31, 2009

Forsberg, Serena, Donovan Oh My!

Forsberg Not Playing in NHL This Season

So, Foppa ain't coming back. At least not to the NHL, Foppa hasn't ruled out playing in the Swedish Elite League for Modo, or as I call it Team Foppa. Flyers General Manager Paul Holmgren pretty much broke the news, as I'm pretty sure he has Foppa posters hung up in his office. This set back likely won't end this love affair. As Foppa stated in an interview yesterday with some Swedish outlet, that he would play in Sweden this season and wouldn't rule out returning to the NHL next season.So you can be sure Holmgren will be lining up for his services on July 1st.


As far as Foppa not returning the Flyers must turn their attention else where if they want to add a peice to this team. Rumor city, or HockeyBuzz.com,(or "give me money, and I'll give you vague hockey rumors) is reporting that the Flyers are interested in Nik Antropov from the Leafs. Using the Flyers interest in him like 7 years ago, as reliable inside info. Do I buy it? Sure. Why not, Antropov would help, but a little rip on Antropov during his career has been (no it's not his constant boyish shocked expression) his lack of heart. Something the whole Leafs organization is trying to change lately. So do you really want to add a guy like that to this dressing room? Doubtful. Do I have any other better suggestions you ask? No. Not yet, most guys who are being named in trade rumors are big ticket players on awful teams, or guys teams can't wait to get rid of i.e. Antropov. A big move I don't think is absolutely necassary unless of course Briere has a set back of some sort. I don't think it would be far fetched for the Fly guys to add a physical defensemen and maybe a role playing winger of sorts. With the likely hood of Glen Metropolit being traded to make room for Briere they will need to plug someone into that role. The Flyers could fill that role with Andreas Nodl or maybe even Jared Ross who just won the AHL All-Star game MVP award. However, I think they would rather have someone with some more NHL experience in that spot.

Serena Wins Australian Open, Nadal and Federer Set to Play Men Final

Serena Williams just won the Australian open in dominate fashion. I got paid to watch it, so would I have watched it otherwise, eh maybe. It wasn't very exciting, she won in straigh sets. However, her speech afterwards was great, very giddy and very excited obviously, but you saw a naturally good person up there. Not the cocky number one in the world tennis player, that she could be. Now tommorow is the real deal, Nadal-Federer, what a match this is going to be. Hopefully Nadal has something left after playing the the longest match in Australian Open history the other night.

Donovan Wants to Retire an Eagle

Or so he says. He doesn't really have a choice, he's going to ask for a new deal and the Eagles will say no. He's going to make something like 10 Million next year? And you think he'd jeopardize that by talking smack on the organization or talking about how he doesn't want to be here? Listen, Donovan has always been a company guy, and he'll continue to be that. For some reason or another, maybe it's the way they've taken care of him or maybe one day Joe Banner showed him how he breaks down numbers and Donovan really got it, but Donovan is a COMPANY MAN. He always walks the company line and during his little media tour at the Super Bowl this week , he walked it straight.

That's it, just some thoughts, do what them what you will. Throw out my opinions as your own if you like, just give me a little credit will ya?

Mike Santa Barbara

No comments: