The final score doesn't really do it justice. 108-102, a six point win by the Celtics over Kobe and the Lakers in game 2 of the NBA Finals. The Celtics led by more then twenty points early in the 3rd quarter. So whats going on? Clearly the Lakers have no answer for what can be a high-octane offense, and also no answer for the C's tough defense. However, I still believe the Lakers will even up the series , winning the next two. Why? Hell, I don't know, I just want
some entertainment value. In the Stanley Cup Finals, I hated both the Redwings from so called "hockeytown," (should call it "emptyseatville) and the Pittsburgh "We were bankrupt and nearly moved to Oklahoma City) Penguins. However, I still wanted that series to go 7 as a sports fan. Having to see highlights of Danny Ainge, Larry Bird, Robert Parrish, Kevin McHale, James Worthy, Kareem, Kurt Rambis, and of course Magic every two minutes on ESPN is getting a bit sickening. We were spoiled back then as NBA fans. The NBA product is not nearly the same and neither are either of these teams the same franchises they once were. The Paul Pierce incident is a perfect example of how things have changed. I'm not saying he was faking, well wait, yes I am. How do you go from being carried off the court to hopping up and down as you stroll back onto the court only a couple minutes later? I'm sorry I just don't see it, I've always thought Paul Pierce as being a tough guy so I'm a bit disappointed. Anyway enough of this "national" sports talk, how does this effect Philadelphia??
Having to watch all those front running Celtics fans with their BRAND new #5 Kevin Garnett jerseys really makes
me sick. More then half of those people wouldn't have gone to a Celtics game last year if you paid them. For all the whining Boston fans do they sure have been winning a lot and that really sucks for Philly fans. We hate seeing New York teams win , and I believe seeing Boston teams win comes in a very close second. The people at Celtic games now are the same idiots who still think the Red Sox are a "lower market team" being put down by the evil "higher market" Yankees. If the Celtics win this series , congrats Boston fans, you bought a championship. After a couple seasons of having no draft picks to build your team up , you can reclaim your place in the basement of the league. The "Garden" will once again be as empty as a Bruins home game. On the bright side you won't miss any Sox games.
I really think something is wrong with me, when I sit back and think about teams I hate, it seems as if things are changing. I could never imagine hating a team worse then I hate the Yankees, but now I hate the Boston Red Sox more. I have hated the Knicks forever, and still do, but now most hated has to be the Celtics. I mean I'm seriously half-way pulling for the damn LOS ANGELES LAKERS AND KOBE FREAKIN' BRYANT!!!!!! Whats going on? The Red Sox use to get their poor little hearts ripped out every season. The Patriots use to be and after thought. The Sox are now a AL powerhouse sweeping their way to two World Series'. And we all know about the Patriots Super Bowls. Now we are two games away from watching yet another Boston team win a championship, the Celtics. Whats next the Bruins winning the Stanley Cup? They did go to the playoffs this season , forcing a game seven against the number one seeded Montreal Canadiens. Whew, I gotta stop, before I pass out.
Mike Santa Barbara
- Will the Phils Need Pitching Sooner Rather Then Later?
- NBA and NHL Draft Talk
- Flyers and Sixers Off Season Objectives
No comments:
Post a Comment